Have you ever thought of deleting your Facebook account? You may be worried about privacy and security issues, or simply it may no longer attract you. Whatever the reason is, you can delete your Facebook account by following some simple steps.
When you delete your account, Facebook automatically removes all the data associated with it such as posts, videos, images, etc. So, if you just want to take some break from Facebook, we would recommend you deactivate your Facebook account instead of deleting it permanently.
In this post, I will show you how you can deactivate and delete your Facebook account. So, without any further ado, let’s get started..!!
How to Deactivate Facebook Account
If you are just looking for a break from Facebook. Here’s how you can deactivate your Facebook account temporarily.
- From the top right corner of Facebook, tap on the down-arrow icon.
- Navigate to the Settings & privacy > Settings.
- From the left sidebar, click on the Your Facebook Information.
- Tap on the Deactivation or Deletion option.
- Now click on the Deactivate Account button.
- Lastly, tap on the Continue to account deactivation and carefully follow the on-screen prompts to deactivate your Facebook account.
- Congratulations! Your Facebook account is deactivated successfully.
How to Download Your Facebook Data
If you have made your mind to delete your Facebook account permanently, be aware that after doing so you will lose access to all of your Facebook data. Here’s how you can download your Facebook data before moving further.
Log in to Facebook, and from the top right corner click on the down-arrow icon.
Head to the Settings & privacy > Settings.
Click on Your Facebook information located in the left sidebar.
Tap on the View option available next to the Download your information.
Now select the data which you want to download, download the format of the data, and the time range of the data.
Click on the Create file option to proceed with your downloading request.
Now, Facebook will take some time to process your request, and will notify you when your files are ready to be downloaded.
How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently
If you have made up your mind to get rid of the Facebook account then you can follow the below-suggested steps. However, remember that by doing so you won’t be able to reactivate your Facebook account, and all your Facebook data including photos, posts, and videos will be deleted permanently. To avoid data losing we suggest you download a copy of your information as mentioned above.
- Click on the down-arrow icon located at the top right corner.
- Head to the Settings & privacy > Settings.
- Click on Your Facebook information.
- On the next screen click on the Deactivation and Deletion button.
- Now select the Permanently Delete Account option and proceed by clicking on the Continue to account deletion button.
- Lastly, click on the Delete My Account button and enter your password to confirm your request.
- Congratulation! Now your Facebook account is deleted permanently.
And with that, we have come to the end of this article on how to delete a Facebook account permanently. Please note that you can cancel your account deletion request by just login into your Facebook account within 30-days of the request. By doing so, Facebook will cancel your deletion request and you will be able to use your Facebook account like earlier.